Can you control voltage of element?

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jocky
Even further under the Table
Posts: 2362
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:50 pm
Location: Epsom, Surrey, UK

Can you control voltage of element?

Post by Jocky » Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:08 pm

Looking at my new brewery build and I'm keen to make things as slick as possible to reduce brew day length.

For a lot of experimental batches I'll be down at 12-15 litres brew length (although I'll build for a capacity of 30). I'd imagine that a 2.7-3kW element at full power is going to get to the boil quickly, but will be wasting energy once it hits the boil.

Is there a way I can control the voltage of the element to avoid this?
Ingredients: Water, Barley, Hops, Yeast, Seaweed, Blood, Sweat, The swim bladder of a sturgeon, My enemies tears, Scenes of mild peril, An otter's handbag and Riboflavin.

User avatar
thepatchworkdoll
Piss Artist
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 8:11 pm

Re: Can you control voltage of element?

Post by thepatchworkdoll » Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:49 pm

Hi Jocky
Have a look on ebay under voltage controllers. Theres loads of controllers.
Regards
Patch
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AC-220V-3800W ... 43cb070064

User avatar
Jocky
Even further under the Table
Posts: 2362
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:50 pm
Location: Epsom, Surrey, UK

Re: Can you control voltage of element?

Post by Jocky » Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:24 pm

Ok.

Is using an element at less than full power going to shorten its life at all? Does anyone else do this?

If not I may use electric for the HLT and propane for the boiler.
Ingredients: Water, Barley, Hops, Yeast, Seaweed, Blood, Sweat, The swim bladder of a sturgeon, My enemies tears, Scenes of mild peril, An otter's handbag and Riboflavin.

jaroporter
Drunk as a Skunk
Posts: 996
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:12 pm
Location: Garden of England

Re: Can you control voltage of element?

Post by jaroporter » Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:58 pm

alright. might be worth researching pulse width modulation (PWM) control. there's examples on the net where people have used it to control boiler elements. something i'll definitely consider if/when i change my current setup
dazzled, doused in gin..

User avatar
thepatchworkdoll
Piss Artist
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 8:11 pm

Re: Can you control voltage of element?

Post by thepatchworkdoll » Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:13 pm

Hey Jocky
Its not a problem Ive been using my ebay controller on the element for over 4 years.
Regards
Patch

User avatar
jmc
Even further under the Table
Posts: 2486
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 11:43 pm
Location: Swaledale, North Yorkshire

Re: Can you control voltage of element?

Post by jmc » Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:52 am

thepatchworkdoll wrote:Hey Jocky
Its not a problem Ive been using my ebay controller on the element for over 4 years.
Regards
Patch
Glad your setup is working Ok.
What controller did you use and what is max watt of your element?

Jocky- Many power controllers are for max 10A so only OK for smaller elements. Electrical noise can be an issue too.

Many articles on this if you search on Jim's.

User avatar
thepatchworkdoll
Piss Artist
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 8:11 pm

Re: Can you control voltage of element?

Post by thepatchworkdoll » Fri Jul 25, 2014 7:32 am

Hi Jocky
I got a 10 kilowatt controller and a 3.5 kilowatt element from ebay. As Ive already sais over 4 years now all is fine. Hope this helps.
regards
Patch

Post Reply