Pressure barrels

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
ianc

Pressure barrels

Post by ianc » Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:11 pm

i have been using plastic pressure barrels for a few years and they have the 2 inch cap with the ability to inject co2 if reqd, but the blue rubber seals have died and pressure is lost, bought a new barrel from well known store that has a cap with white rubber seal, that failed at first attempt despite greasing it, got money back and cost of kit,,,,,,well done wilko ...but where do I go from here ,,,,the original seals are no longer produced.....so is it new barrels or caps from somewhere with working seals.....any ideas please....I am beginning get to sober up !!!!! Cheers ,,,Ian

lord groan
Lost in an Alcoholic Haze

Re: Pressure barrels

Post by lord groan » Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:29 pm

My barrels (4" cap)have the gas inlet covered by a roughly 1/4" diameter rubber seal. Last winter a seal perished while the barrel was full and my spares box didn't contain any correct size replacements. Scratching around in desperation I found a length of 1/4" silicon type aquarium tubing, I cut a piece to the right length and pushed it onto the inlet pin and it's worked perfectly ever since!
I'm not familiar with the 2" caps but could a short piece of general purpose soft rubber/silicon tubing do the trick? It'll need to be soft mind you, not the clear pvc stuff as that'll just be too tight to release pressure

Dads_Ale
Piss Artist

Post by Dads_Ale » Fri Oct 10, 2014 7:31 am

I have a few caps with the blue silicone seal and thought spares would be available, but after much searching, as you say, couldn't find any. Homebrew suppliers do sell a replacement square section seal for 2 inch caps and this may work.

IPA
Under the Table

Post by IPA » Fri Oct 10, 2014 7:53 am