Recommended Brewing Set up & Thermo Pot Size

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
Fastline
Hollow Legs

Recommended Brewing Set up & Thermo Pot Size

Post by Fastline » Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:49 pm

I'm just getting into brewing my own beer using kits and been buying all the bits and bobs but after reading a few books and this forum I would like to get in to all grain brewing once I get these couple of kits under my belt

I'm seeing lots of setups with three large vessels some using pumps some on the same level and using pumps to shift the liquids about (HERMS if I’m correct) some on stands, there was one thread I see where Spargeing mashing and boiling being done in one vessel. What are the pros and cons with the different arrangements?

I am not fazed with drilling stainless steel or making parts for the system just a bit overwhelmed by all the different ways it can be done, with everyone experience if they was to start again how would you set you kit out differently or has anyone got a perfect set up that I should just replicate if there is such a thing

I see there have been lots of thermo pot conversions going on

I'm thinking of Building a Brew kettle first from one of the thermal pots so I could use it as part of any set up and be able to use for beer kits until I progress
What should I expect to pay for a thermo pot, where is best place to get them and what capacity would you advise I go for on HLT, Mash Tun and Brew kettle if looking at fermenting 5 gallon batches typically but with capacity for 10 gallon batches

I’m saying 5 Gallon or 10 Gallon batches but there again what is ideal if batch size if using corny kegs?

I would like to aim for as professional arrangement as I can and plan to dedicate a shed to the hobby, I work with stainless steel so I’m already hooked on the fact that my kit needs to be shiny Stainless steel