Kit tips for a friend just starting out

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
dean_wales
Drunk as a Skunk

Post by dean_wales » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:32 am

Hi guys,

I have an old friend who wants to get into brewing this year. Total newbie with only £100 or so to spend on gear. He loves a bit of science so would like go all grain if he can.

What would you suggest?

I was going to suggest that all grain is a steep learning curve and £100 won't be enough to get him started anyhow.

He is not ken at all on kits. Would it be sensible to suggest going for an extract set up and then in a year or two adding a mash tun if he wants to progress?

How is this for a kit shopping list?

Boiler (I might be able to adapt and sell him my HLT but please suggest something).
Wide neck fermenter.
Hydrometer.
Thermometer.
Some form of temperature control.
Capper.

What consumables am I missing for brew day?
Malt extract
Hops
Yeast
StarSan

Its amazed me actually thinking about it, how simple brewing can be! I don't think he can afford a chiller. I can lend him a book and try to stop by his place on his maiden voyage.

Dean.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
Click here for my cider pressing...
Click here to see my 20% Damson port experiment...
Click here for red wine from my allotment vine...

chefgage
Hollow Legs

Re: Kit tips for a friend just starting out

Post by chefgage » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:47 am

If a chiller is out the question then I would suggest the no chill method for him. That way he can use the no chill cube as the fermenter as well - works for me.

mbarn
Piss Artist

Post by mbarn » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:50 am

A second hand boiler, home made voil bag, hydrometer, fermenter, a temp probe, and 3 boxes of 500ml swing top bottles from the range would be £100.

No true temp control other than a cheap thermometer from Ebay, where you set a temp alarm for mash temp and then transfer to pan for sparge water temp.