REX C100 - Pt100 Termocouple

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
Post Reply
User avatar
floydmeddler
Falling off the Barstool
Posts: 3963
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Irish man living in Brighton

REX C100 - Pt100 Termocouple

Post by floydmeddler » Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:57 pm

Howdy,

I went cheap and bought a Berme REX C100. Went to configure it so that it would accept a PT100 thermocouple and it doesn't seem like I can. All the 'how to' Youtube vids how it as a very simple process: Change the LCK digits to 0000 to access the SL1 menu. Difference with theirs and mine is that I can't do that as I only I only have 3 digits: 000. No sign of SL1 display. Very frustrating. :-(

Is this because mine is one of those cheap ass copies that I've been reading about and therefore it will never accept the PT100?

Cheers

Floyd

User avatar
Wonkydonkey
Drunk as a Skunk
Posts: 847
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 9:37 am
Location: In the Stables

Re: REX C100 - Pt100 Termocouple

Post by Wonkydonkey » Sun Nov 12, 2017 1:26 am

I have a Rex that I brought still in its box, I never got to use it as it was to long to fit in my control panel, I assumed it was the same lenght as the Sestos
So apart from powering up, I could only read the instructions, and that would be online as it either never came with any or I lost them

I guess I could try and have a look tomoz if you want/need
To Busy To Add,

User avatar
Wonkydonkey
Drunk as a Skunk
Posts: 847
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 9:37 am
Location: In the Stables

Re: REX C100 - Pt100 Termocouple

Post by Wonkydonkey » Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:15 am

Well I did look/took it outta the box last nite, it's been in there nearly 2yrs. Anyhow it's not a cheapycopy. It's an RKC Rex-c100

I did look at the online manuals. I say manuals cos there were more than 1, either written by diff peeps or just bad translation

How are you getting trying to get to the change the probe menus, ie you turn it on and what buttons you pressing and for how long.
I ask cos I looked at a YouTube vid and looked at the manual they linked to
Cheers
To Busy To Add,

User avatar
floydmeddler
Falling off the Barstool
Posts: 3963
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Irish man living in Brighton

Re: REX C100 - Pt100 Termocouple

Post by floydmeddler » Sun Nov 12, 2017 1:52 pm

Cheers WD!

I ended up giving up on the REX C100 and bought a Sestos. Time is of the essence with this build so it was a safe bet. I'll use the REX C100 for a future smoker fan project.

;-)

User avatar
johnmac
Under the Table
Posts: 1351
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:00 pm
Location: Shropshire

Re: REX C100 - Pt100 Termocouple

Post by johnmac » Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:39 pm

I bought a REX C100 - it didn't have the 3 terminals for a PT100 - sent it back. Bought another REX C100 (more carefully) and it does have the 3 terminals and works beautifully. Lesson - there are a few different types of REX C100 and you need to ask questions of the seller.

Post Reply