Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
Brighteyebeer
Piss Artist
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: East London

Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Brighteyebeer » Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:11 pm

This 'un:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AC-220V-1-5K ... Sw~P9auF59
I want to replace the elements in my boiler with these. They're 2 standard kettle elements in 40mm (approx) holes. I can't tell from the listing if the Fleabay ones above would fit. If anyone's used them, and can enlighten* me, I'd appreciate it.

Cheers,
Chris
*Just about the elements - anything else is a lost cause :)

User avatar
orlando
It's definitely Lock In Time
Posts: 6782
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:22 pm
Location: North Norfolk: Nearest breweries All Day Brewery, Salle. Panther, Reepham. Yetman's, Holt

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by orlando » Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:21 pm

Will they have enough grunt. A typical set up is >2.4 kWh.
I am "The Little Red Brooster"

Fermenting: No Stout About It (Porter)
Conditioning: 4 Hops To Heaven
Drinking: From Russia With Love (RIS), Peaches, Twist & Stout, I Am A Patriot Too, Reasons To Be Beerful (Part Three)

Up Next: With A Bitter Luck, Song For Keith
Planning: Winter drinking Beer

Brighteyebeer
Piss Artist
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: East London

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Brighteyebeer » Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:50 pm

orlando wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:21 pm
Will they have enough grunt. A typical set up is >2.4 kWh.
That's why I want to use 2 x 1.5kw elements - 3kw should be enough

Brighteyebeer
Piss Artist
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: East London

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Brighteyebeer » Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:55 pm

EINBREW wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:23 pm
Not used them, but if their published dims are right the diameter of the fitting is 1.77" (45mm). if your holes are 40mm, then you'll have to widen, and that can be a pain.

EINBREW.
You're right, it would be a pain, and could result in an odd-shaped hole which leaks. Not clear from the description and pics if that's the gross dimension, or if it's the hole diameter needed

User avatar
orlando
It's definitely Lock In Time
Posts: 6782
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:22 pm
Location: North Norfolk: Nearest breweries All Day Brewery, Salle. Panther, Reepham. Yetman's, Holt

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by orlando » Thu Apr 26, 2018 1:40 pm

Brighteyebeer wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:50 pm
orlando wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:21 pm
Will they have enough grunt. A typical set up is >2.4 kWh.
That's why I want to use 2 x 1.5kw elements - 3kw should be enough
OK, but I have 2 x 2.4 kWh and I don't think that's enough really, particularly at double the usual brew length and Winter. I'm an advocate of a lot of kinetic energy in the boil. It is the "collisions" involving hops that aids isomerisation and helps proteins coagulate and attach to tannins. All desirable outcomes. Simmers don't cut it.
I am "The Little Red Brooster"

Fermenting: No Stout About It (Porter)
Conditioning: 4 Hops To Heaven
Drinking: From Russia With Love (RIS), Peaches, Twist & Stout, I Am A Patriot Too, Reasons To Be Beerful (Part Three)

Up Next: With A Bitter Luck, Song For Keith
Planning: Winter drinking Beer

Brighteyebeer
Piss Artist
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: East London

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Brighteyebeer » Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:11 pm

orlando wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 1:40 pm
Brighteyebeer wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:50 pm
orlando wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:21 pm
Will they have enough grunt. A typical set up is >2.4 kWh.
That's why I want to use 2 x 1.5kw elements - 3kw should be enough
OK, but I have 2 x 2.4 kWh and I don't think that's enough really, particularly at double the usual brew length and Winter. I'm an advocate of a lot of kinetic energy in the boil. It is the "collisions" involving hops that aids isomerisation and helps proteins coagulate and attach to tannins. All desirable outcomes. Simmers don't cut it.
My prob is I've relocated to Spain, and am advised that 3kw is the max from a domestic supply, so Hobson's choice really (gas isn't an option). Previously, the boiler had 5kw - 1 x 3 and 1 x 2kw. Came to the boil quickly enough, and the 3 kw solo maintained a good boil. So I live in hope...

User avatar
orlando
It's definitely Lock In Time
Posts: 6782
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:22 pm
Location: North Norfolk: Nearest breweries All Day Brewery, Salle. Panther, Reepham. Yetman's, Holt

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by orlando » Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:40 pm

Brighteyebeer wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:11 pm
So I live in hope...
Where's that in Spain? :wink:
I am "The Little Red Brooster"

Fermenting: No Stout About It (Porter)
Conditioning: 4 Hops To Heaven
Drinking: From Russia With Love (RIS), Peaches, Twist & Stout, I Am A Patriot Too, Reasons To Be Beerful (Part Three)

Up Next: With A Bitter Luck, Song For Keith
Planning: Winter drinking Beer

Brighteyebeer
Piss Artist
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: East London

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Brighteyebeer » Fri Apr 27, 2018 2:30 pm

orlando wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:40 pm
Where's that in Spain? :wink:
Fuerteventura, Islas Canarias

Brighteyebeer
Piss Artist
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: East London

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Brighteyebeer » Fri Apr 27, 2018 2:35 pm

EINBREW wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:54 pm
It will be diffy in spain many properties are 'limited' at the fuseboard to ~3kW total for the property, if you run at 3kW and turn a light on, it can trip.
Yep, on a brewday I'll have to turn-off the 'leccy water heater
Brighteyebeer wrote:
Fri Apr 27, 2018 2:30 pm
EINBREW wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:54 pm
Why is gas not an option, you can easily use a paella burner (loads of kW), they are cheap and bottle gas is readily available.
Lugging gas cylinders up to my top floor apartment (there's no lift) and using it indoors doesn't appeal

simon12
Hollow Legs
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by simon12 » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:39 pm

I have used those elements for most people a £5 kettle element would be better but if spot on 3Kw is what you want 2 of them should be perfect. They fit the same hole as standard elements I think 38mm of the top of my head I don't think they come with a seal but your old ones should be fine or buy a £5 kettle to get that anyway.

Fil
Telling imaginary friend stories
Posts: 5232
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:49 pm
Location: Cowley, Oxford

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Fil » Sat Apr 28, 2018 5:21 pm

Yes I have used em though they were a lot cheaper when i bought em, 2x can be run off a single 13a supply ok i had 2x fitted in my 66l bucket hlt, and they were sufficient to maintain a boil when almost fully lidded.. ;) and while the plastic back end is cheap, its perfectly servicable and a lot better than bare wires from a recycled kettle element.

Mine arrived with a formed gasket designed for a thin wall, in order to fit and make an electrical contact between the back and front ends i needed to shave off the thicker side of the supplied gasket to accommodate my thicker PP bucket wall thickness.

the nice open shape makes them easy to scrub off any calcium deposits, just on personal experience of both these and a recycled tight spiral kettle element doing the same job.. these appear to have a lower watt density as the calcium dusting post use is significantly lighter..
ist update for months n months..
Fermnting: not a lot..
Conditioning: nowt
Maturing: Challenger smash, and a kit lager
Drinking: dry one minikeg left in the store
Coming Soon Lots planned for the near future nowt for the immediate :(

Fil
Telling imaginary friend stories
Posts: 5232
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:49 pm
Location: Cowley, Oxford

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Fil » Sat Apr 28, 2018 5:28 pm

PS THEY ARE NOT 40MM hole compatible, 36-38.5mm max..

a 40mm hole would be impossible to fit, i needed to plug up my 40mm hole and cut 2 new 38mm holes..

Image
ist update for months n months..
Fermnting: not a lot..
Conditioning: nowt
Maturing: Challenger smash, and a kit lager
Drinking: dry one minikeg left in the store
Coming Soon Lots planned for the near future nowt for the immediate :(

Brighteyebeer
Piss Artist
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: East London

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Brighteyebeer » Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:19 pm

Fil and Simon - many thanks for your replies. That's what I needed to know. Fil, I used a 1.5" Qmax for the element holes, which I think is 38.1mm, but had to file them out a bit to fit the elements. Think I will order a couple of these to try in my existing boiler. If they leak, then plan B is a new pot and start from scratch (not as easy as it sounds in the Islas Canarias!). So I'll use the elements one way or another...

Thanks again for the info.

Cheers,
Chris

Fil
Telling imaginary friend stories
Posts: 5232
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:49 pm
Location: Cowley, Oxford

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Fil » Thu May 03, 2018 10:50 pm

my circa 38mm qmax punch is an imperial jobby 1-3/4" iirc i think 1-1/2" may be 32mm?? either way its way easier to make a hole bigger than it is to make one smaller..

if needed the patch pictured above is made from an anodised aluminium tax disk holder sealed with a ring of silicone baking sheet and SS nuts and bolts fixed thru the original screw close holes drilled all the way through. took 10 minutes to fit n seal ..
ist update for months n months..
Fermnting: not a lot..
Conditioning: nowt
Maturing: Challenger smash, and a kit lager
Drinking: dry one minikeg left in the store
Coming Soon Lots planned for the near future nowt for the immediate :(

Brighteyebeer
Piss Artist
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: East London

Re: Anyone Used These 1.5kw Elements?

Post by Brighteyebeer » Sun May 06, 2018 3:52 pm

Thanks Fil and Einbrew. I've ordered a couple of elements, so I'll see how it goes when they arrive. Good idea to put new element holes in any patches, Einbrew. Fil, don't know that you can get tax disc holders now? Shame - the ready-made ali discs are ideal

Cheers,
Chris

Post Reply