Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

The forum for discussing all kinds of brewing paraphernalia.
Post Reply
chris2012
Under the Table
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 10:13 pm

Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by chris2012 » Sun May 19, 2019 2:20 pm

Just been reading http://www.blogquail.com/the-difference ... onnectors/ it sounds like you should be able
to get a mains plug with a IEC-C15 end rated at 15A/250V, but I haven't been able to find one so far.

I just ordered a C15 cable but that's only rated at 10A.

Also what mm2, should a 13A+ cable really be?

Cheers

User avatar
IPA
Under the Table
Posts: 1205
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:29 am
Location: France Gascony

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by IPA » Mon May 20, 2019 7:09 am

chris2012 wrote:
Sun May 19, 2019 2:20 pm
Just been reading http://www.blogquail.com/the-difference ... onnectors/ it sounds like you should be able
to get a mains plug with a IEC-C15 end rated at 15A/250V, but I haven't been able to find one so far.

I just ordered a C15 cable but that's only rated at 10A.

Also what mm2, should a 13A+ cable really be?

Cheers
If you have a 13 amp fused plug on a lead why are you looking for a 15 amp socket on the other end ?
A C13 socket is rated domestically at 15 amps is it the temperature rating that you are concerned about ?
With regards to cable size it depends on the length of the cable. In your case 1.5 mm is plenty big enough.
"You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on." Dean Martin

1. Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, thoroughly used, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming... "f*ck, what a trip!"

chris2012
Under the Table
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 10:13 pm

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by chris2012 » Mon May 20, 2019 10:56 am

I'd be happy if the C15 end was rated 13A also, but haven't found anything like that so far. The
cable I've got seems to be 1mm2 too.

I wouldn't be able to use C13 as it's not hot rated.

guypettigrew
Under the Table
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 7:10 pm
Location: Christchurch, Dorset

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by guypettigrew » Mon May 20, 2019 2:08 pm

What are you plugging it into? A C15 is hot condition, so is OK for kettle elements etc. A 15 amp rating would (in theory) allow you to plug into a 3.6kW element!! But the plug on the end of the lead wouldn't like that, as IPA has said.

Guy

chris2012
Under the Table
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 10:13 pm

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by chris2012 » Mon May 20, 2019 2:18 pm

I'd just be using with a 2.4 to 3kW element, so 13A would be fine, but I've not found one that's definitely rated at least that at the end at the moment.

f00b4r
Lost in an Alcoholic Haze
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 10:54 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by f00b4r » Mon May 20, 2019 4:11 pm

These have 13A rated ones, that I used in the UK with my Braumeister: http://www.cablewarehouse.co.uk/display ... ?cat_id=10


guypettigrew
Under the Table
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 7:10 pm
Location: Christchurch, Dorset

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by guypettigrew » Mon May 20, 2019 4:38 pm

chris2012 wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 2:18 pm
I'd just be using with a 2.4 to 3kW element, so 13A would be fine, but I've not found one that's definitely rated at least that at the end at the moment.
Sorry, but what do you mean? An element has a rating. 2.4kw to 3kw makes no sense.

I use 2.4Kw elements in my HLT and boiler. A 10 amp rated C15 IEC plug is fine.

Guy

chris2012
Under the Table
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 10:13 pm

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by chris2012 » Mon May 20, 2019 5:20 pm

Sorry I mean to use for either a 2.4kW or 3kW element.

Edit: it seems I thought an element I could get was 3kW, but it's actually 2.4kW, doh, sorry for the post then, as 10A would then be fine

User avatar
Jocky
Even further under the Table
Posts: 2191
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:50 pm
Location: Epsom, Surrey, UK

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by Jocky » Mon May 20, 2019 8:40 pm

These ones are ideal. 13 amp and properly hot rated:

https://www.lindy.co.uk/cables-adapters ... lack-p9230

Having melted a couple of cheap ones in the past, these have worked faultlessly.
Ingredients: Water, Barley, Hops, Yeast, Seaweed, Blood, Sweat, The swim bladder of a sturgeon, My enemies tears, Scenes of mild peril, An otter's handbag and Riboflavin.

chris2012
Under the Table
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 10:13 pm

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by chris2012 » Mon May 20, 2019 9:23 pm

Cheers thanks!

User avatar
themadhippy
Even further under the Table
Posts: 2852
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 12:53 am
Location: playing hooky

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by themadhippy » Tue May 21, 2019 12:57 am

An element has a rating. 2.4kw to 3kw makes no sense.
makes perfect sense considering no voltage is mentioned,an element rated at 3kw on 250v is only 2.4kw at around 225volts.
Warning: The Dutch Coffeeshops products may contain drugs. Drinks containing caffeine should be used with care and moderation

guypettigrew
Under the Table
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 7:10 pm
Location: Christchurch, Dorset

Re: Where to get 250V/15A IEC-C15

Post by guypettigrew » Tue May 21, 2019 9:03 am

themadhippy wrote:
Tue May 21, 2019 12:57 am
An element has a rating. 2.4kw to 3kw makes no sense.
makes perfect sense considering no voltage is mentioned,an element rated at 3kw on 250v is only 2.4kw at around 225volts.
You're absolutely right of course. But you know what I meant!!

Guy

Post Reply