Help with a "home Bar". About to start, but haven't a clue !

The place to discuss all things about brewing hygiene!
Stu The Brew 2

Help with a "home Bar". About to start, but haven't a clue !

Post by Stu The Brew 2 » Fri May 10, 2013 11:19 am

Hi all.

About to start my latest project "The Home Bar" :D :D :D

The only problem is I don't have much of an idea when it comes to "Kegging".

Here's what I have so far;

2x 50l kegs (from a legitimate source obviously)
1x s type connector
1x beer cooler with 2 connections (don't know too much else about it yet as it will be delivered this afternoon( E-bay spesh)

Still looking out for a nice chrome (unbranded) tap

If anyone would like to help me out I need help with the following.

Cleaning
I have been brewing for 18 months or so and feel I have the basics down. I usually just use diluted bleach to sterilise with and have never had a problem, is it now time to move on to "Star-san"?
Will there be much benefit ?(bearing in mind I can get 1litre of cheap bleach for about 20p in the local supermarket which will last for 4-5 brews).
Also when it comes to cleaning the lines can I use the same stuff? I have seen caustic cleaning products and wonder if I should be going to these extremes or not. I am happy to dismantle the kegs when they need cleaning as this has already been done once when I first got the kegs (I removed the safety catches at the same time to make it easier the next time), even to the point of dismantling the spears. I will probably fill the kegs up this way anyway.

Other equipment needed
What else do I still need to think about getting?
Obviously I need some lines, gas isn't a problem acquiring as I have a friend with a metal fabricating company that can get that for me, I am a tad confused on the regulator situation though. I have seen primary and secondary regulators, what is the difference? do I need both?

Any help on the problems so far would be great.

Stu :?

Frothy