How do you sterilise/clean?

The place to discuss all things about brewing hygiene!
Mther

Post by Mther » Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:10 pm

As a newbie here I would like to ask your opinion about cleaning and sterilising the equipment.

I see many chemical unknown words here so I would appreciate if you could attach a link of what you use, or if I can find it in a supermarket.

I currently use VWP for sterilising which I don't even know what it contains... Should I rinse my equipment after using this VWP?

Is there anything cheaper? I pay £5 for 400g from my local homebrew shop.

For cleaning I just use water and washing liquid.

Any suggestion is much appreciated.

Cheers

6470zzy
Telling everyone Your My Best Mate

Re: How do you sterilise/clean?

Post by 6470zzy » Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:18 pm

The instructions on the website say to definitely rinse your equipment after use. I imagine that the container would list the active ingredient. :-k
"Work is the curse of the drinking class"
Oscar Wilde

TC2642
Even further under the Table

Post by TC2642 » Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:25 pm

Diluted bleach and then some sodium metabisulphate to neutralise the chlorine, much cheaper than VWP (which I used for a fair few years)
Fermenting -!
Maturing - Lenin's Revenge RIS
Drinking - !
Next brew - PA
Brew after next brew - IPA

Ben711200

Post by Ben711200 » Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:27 pm

As far as possible, i clean with plain warm water and elbow grease. I've never had anything get dirty enough that i need more than washing up liquid and a scrub really. I sanitise with star san.

You definitely need to rinse vwp after use.

GrowlingDogBeer

Post by GrowlingDogBeer » Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:37 pm

I clean with sodium percarbonate, which is the active ingredient in all the Oxy type laundry cleaner powders. You can pick up a 1Kg tub of oky cleaner in Poundland or Aldi quite cheaply. Get the unscented one.