Can you freeze Elderflowers?

Try some of these great recipes out, or share your favourite brew with other forumees!
Beerisgoodforyou

Can you freeze Elderflowers?

Post by Beerisgoodforyou » Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:05 pm

Hi all, new to forum and new to brewing but totally hooked after making a Wherry, a Great Eastern conditioning and a fixby gold fermenting.

Whilst looking in to the field behind my garden I notice a tonne of elderflowers growing. They are well away from any pollutants so should be good for using as an additive.

My question is, as I have no brews I can add them to now could I preserve them? First thought was freezing them but as typing wondered if I could boil the flowers and make up ice cubes with the flavoured water and add to the FV next time I brew.

What do people think. As I said I'm a complete novice so if this is a dumb idea please tell me!!

Chers
PG

GARYSMIFF

Re: Can you freeze Elderflowers?

Post by GARYSMIFF » Wed Jun 22, 2011 6:09 pm

do they not dry them?

"To dry your own elder flowers, pick them early in the morning before the heat of the day has diminished their potency. Place the flower heads on clean paper in a warm, dark, dry place for a few days.The flowers are then used like tea leaves to make a delicate tisane which can be flavoured with lemon and honey, or added to lemon marmalade for extra piquancy.

From herehttp://www.theepicentre.com/Spices/elder.html

Beerisgoodforyou

Post by Beerisgoodforyou » Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:28 am

Thanks, but if they are dried would you have to rehydrate them?

Could you not just follow the cordial recipe minus the sugar and freeze?

trucker5774
Falling off the Barstool

Post by trucker5774 » Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:52 am

If they don't freeze, I'm in trouble. I didn't see myself being able to do a brew for a month or two so I collected and froze 80g of elderflowers. As it happens I am brewing today and will use them. I also dried about 30g which reduced to 8g once dry.